The signal of Radiosepia

radiosepia

Moving out to other country could bring many new things: you can learn about other cultures or languages, meet new places or experience new food.

But for Matt Monaghan it was different. He moved out to Barcelona and he started a band with Manu Lopez (Bass and Voice), Marta Torres (Violin and Voice), Chopper-Dave (Percussion/Drums) and ‘The Evil Seed’ (Mandolin/Xylo) called “Radiosepia”.

In a conversation with The Outsider Argentina, Matt spoke about the releasing of their new album “Digital Scars”, the work between the members of the group and the best thing about being on stage.

How did the band start?

I lived in Cádiz, Spain, and I moved out to Barcelona. I had a band in Cádiz, but I wanted to start something new in Barcelona called “Radiosepia”. I found the musicians in bars, where they were hidden.

Why “Radiosepia”?

Radiosepia comes from one of my favourite animals – the cuttlefish, or ‘sepia’ in Spanish. One day I saw a sepia while snorkelling in Nicaragua and it looked like an alien sending out signals, radio signals. The image stuck in my head for years.

How do you work within the group?

Within the group we usually bring songs to the group fully written, with lyrics, on one instrument. The rest of the group then add their instrument to the mix. I love to throw a new song at the rest of the group and see them add their magic to it. The song often transforms and develops in areas I wasn’t expecting.

You are one of the songwriters, which is the source of your inspiration?

I get inspired by nature, science, love and good stories. I always like writing short stories and I try to turn them into songs. A new song (Laser guided bombs) is about a robot that has fallen from a plane. The truth is that the song is less about the adventures of a robot and more about the challenge of seeking out beauty hidden within everyday life.

There are plenty songs that makes allusion to the nature like “You are the River”, “The River Goes” or “The Desert Rain”, why is that?

Science, biology and especially ecology and zoology are subjects close to my heart. Like I said before I love to mix the stark reality of science with observations on the sadness and beauty of the world. One song that didn’t quite make the cut for our new album ‘Digital Scars’ was ‘Jurassic Times’ – which is a love song that begins in prehistoric times. ‘Time Will Take Our Love Away’ – the first song on our album, is a continuation of that idea.

What can you tell us about “Digital Scars”, your newest album?

Digital Scars is a mixture between love songs with science fiction and hope for the future.

Which is your favourite song from your band?

I have a few, but my current favourite radiosepia song is ‘Laser Guided Bombs’, which I feel is a great, original pop song. It tells an interesting story and mixes beauty with scientific reality, something that I’ve always found mesmerising. We also have a couple of new ones – ‘Wait for the Time’ and ‘The Man With The Gun’ that I really, really like too.

Where are you going to promote the album?

We play a lot in Barcelona, but we are also looking forward to play in other places too.

Are you going to make any tour?

Yes, we are going to the UK, Germany and the USA, because we have some contacts there. We would love going to South America.

How is the audience’s repercussion?

People like it. In our Facebook page they leave us some messages telling us which is their favourite song. A lot of people said that we have a “sound”, specially a mixture between the voice with violin, mandolin and electric guitar. I really like that.

What do you enjoy the most about being on stage?

I love interacting with the audience and I love having fun with my band mates, who make everything possible. A good gig puts us all on a high that lasts several days. There’s nothing like it.

Our new album is available on bandcamp http://radiosepia.bandcamp.com/

The song ‘Triassic Times’ (Dinosaurs, Sharks, Gingko Trees and Pterosaurs included) can be listen to/downloaded for free here: http://radiosepia.bandcamp.com/track/triassic-times

Samantha Schuster

