Put Up Your Periscope, Katey Laurel

katey

Sometimes it’s hard living from music. In the business there are a lot of no’s, but there are opportunities for some people to make a career too.

One example is Katey Laurel, who started to love music when she was a little girl. And after a lot of instrument’s lessons and college, she won some prizes and people can listen to her feelings through her own music.

Nowadays, she is producing her newest album “Put Up Your Periscope”, in which she wrote a collection of songs about hope.

In a conversation with The Outsider Argentina, Katey spoke about her love for music, the stories she writes and the campaign for her new album.

How did you start doing music?

Gosh, I’ve loved music from an early age, probably like most people.  One of my first forays into music was piano lessons when I was 6, which I begged my Mom for after I heard a family friend playing “Summertime” from Porgy and Bess at a party.  That was my first instrument.  I sang a solo in a school play in third grade as Scrooge and after that, I was hooked.  I started playing French horn in 5th grade, followed it to college, and began writing songs when I was 18.

How can you describe your music?

My music is mostly lyrical folk pop, sometimes feeling-based, sometimes story-based.  I love the feel, the vibe, and the way words sound in certain contexts often more than what they ultimately mean.  Does that make me artistic or lazy as a songwriter?  🙂

As a songwriter, what is your source of inspiration?

Life, mostly.  The way I see the world and people around me.  Stories I live and stories I make up in my head.  Love.  Pain.  Heartaches.  Headaches.  Joy, sunshine, flowers and other people.  Some other things I forgot to mention.

How was it like winning so many prizes?

Well, I wouldn’t say I’ve won “so many” prizes.  Just a handful really, given my ten + year career span.  It seems like I’m always entering contests mostly just to meet new people and share my music with them, and occasionally, I win. In this business, it’s a lot of no’s, a few maybes, and an occasional yes.  It’s always exciting to be recognized for my passion and work, no matter how small or insignificant the award may be in the big scheme of things.

What does the music means in your life?

Music is ultimately the way I process and express my feelings about life.  Without it, I think I’d probably feel a little bottled up.  Other people’s music is also therapeutic and I love the sounds and stories other artists create much more than I love my own.  I think we’re always our own biggest critic.

What do you enjoy most about being on stage?

I think my favorite thing about being on stage is the opportunity to connect with listeners in real time, in a real space and share an experience together.  There’s nothing quite like it.  Flaws and all, it’s original every time.

Which is the audience’s reaction when they hear your music?

It depends on the audience and the songs.  Some people smile, others cry.  Once, I actually saw someone singing along with Blue Sky’s Comin’ and it through me for such a loop that someone I didn’t know knew it that I forgot the words to my own song.  🙂

What can you tell us about your newest album?

I am very proud of how it is coming together so far.  This album, “Put Up Your Periscope” will be my best work yet (it’s taken years to grow into).  I’m three songs in on the recording/production process with a producer in Toronto and a production team in LA and I can’t wait to see how it all turns out.  I’ve written a collection of songs about hope mostly, and it’s working out just fine.

How can people help you with that?

I’ve already closed the funding via Kickstarter, but I still do have about 1/4 of the funds to raise.  I would gladly accept a couple more Song Sponsors to cover mixing expenses – if anyone’s interested, send me a message at Facebook.com/kateylaurelmusic  and I’m still accepting pre-orders via Sellaband at https://www.sellaband.com/en/projects/katey-laurel.

You can download her last record from this page: https://www.yousendit.com/download/QlVoTXRTZ2c0b0F3anNUQw

Samantha Schuster

