Q&A with Gwendoline Christie from Game of Thrones

Brienne-of-Tarth-game-of-thrones-31362150-639-960

Today HBO made a Q&A with one of the most mysterious and strongest character of Game of Thrones, Brienne of Tarth.

She is a manly knight, who is very loyal to everyone she serves and is  ready to fight to achieve what she is looking for. She really believes in justice.

In the Q&A the fans could ask the actress Gwendoline Christie about her part on the show, her personality and how has playing Brienne impacts in her life.

Here you can see some of the most relevant questions:

How does it feel to know your character is empowering for women?

Brilliant. Personally justifies my choice to be an actor and I mean that. The thing is it’s not my character. It’s George RR Martin’s character and Dan and David’s character. I couldn’t be happier. I hope this opens up opportunities in the main stream for female actors and I hope women get something out of it.

What about your personality makes you perfect for the role of Brienne of Tarth?

I’ve had similar experiences to that character. I feel I understand her psyche and understand her choices. Obviously she’s a fictional character and I, apparently a real person, but we’ve definitely shared similar experiences. I understand her feelings of being marginalized due to the way that she looks.

What do you find the most difficult in your portrayal of Brienne?

It’s really hard to be as good as she is at everything. Particularly in terms of her strength and skill. That’s the hardest thing. I quite like looking mucky, it’s quite nice not having to care about how you look. It’s nice that the worse you look the better portrayal it is the character. It’s quite liberating.

Is it hard for you to interpret Brienne, a strong woman that fear nothing?

It’s not hard to interpret it because really, my job is just about pretending. So, it’s really exciting to pretend to be a strong woman that fears nothing because most of us are vulnerable characters that fear everything. It’s incredibly pleasurable to inhabit that and for that to be my job.

What do you think are Brienne’s greatest strengths and weaknesses?

I think she has incredible moral sense that is really focused and determined and she has a very clear idea of what she believes is right and wrong. She will dedicate her life to what is right and for justice to be done and what is a really pure justice. I think the flip side to that is that she could perhaps be missing out on life and more experiences and more of the tender aspects of life. What do I know? She’s amazing with a sword. If I were amazing with a sword I wouldn’t care about the tender things in life.

What types of challenges do you face portraying such a masculine character?

I think that people as well as actors have a certain natural vanity and it can be very hard to see yourself portrayed as someone who isn’t conventually attractive. It can be difficult to see yourself in a way that you don’t want to see yourself.

How has playing Brienne affected your real life, or has it had any impact on you?

It’s had massive impact on me. Not just in my working life but I’m really thrilled to be playing this character. But who knows, hopefully I’ll. I think she’s a really superb archetype to be in such a mainstream show. It’s really exciting to be a part of that and to be dipping into that psychology and use them in your work. It’s a really thrilling and welcome part of my life.

That’s all the time we have for today’s Q&A. Gwendoline, is there anything else you’d like to say to your fans before we go?

I’m really overwhelmed by peoples’ response to my interpretation of this character and I’m really, really grateful. It touches me deeply when people say they feel something that resonates with them. But I’m not surprised, George RR Martin has drawn a really extraordinary character, pretty unusual and breaks a lot of boundaries and David and Dan have done a sensational job adapting that. I’m so thrilled to be playing it and that people like. It’s a terribly corny thing to say but I mean that. It overwhelms me.

Samantha Schuster

