Ryan Guzman: model, actor and writer

44

It is common that a model wants to venture into acting. That’s what happened with Ryan Guzman, who started modeling and then he doing auditions. His first movie was “Step Up Revolution”.

Nowadays he is going to be on “Pretty Little Liars”, portraying Jake, a thoughtful young man who practices Tang Soo Do, a martial art, and will be Aria’s (Lucy Hale) instructor.

But Ryan is not only a model and an actor, he also enjoys writing. He used to write with no intention, but now he is writing scripts to make movies.

In a conversation with The Outsider Argentina, Ryan Guzman spoke about his beginnings as a model, his part on “Pretty Little Liars” and the projects for this year.

How did you go from modeling to acting?

I was introduced to a commercial agent through my modeling agency and after doing a certain amount of commercials, the acting bug had bit me. I signed with a manager soon after and started going out for acting auditions. Soon after booked my very first role and haven’t looked back since.

How was the experience of working in “Step Up Revolution”?

It was an incredible experience. It was my first acting job and I loved the whole cast and crew. I still hang out with a lot of people from the movie. We have our own Step Up family.

In which way do you think that the role in the movie changed your life?

It introduced me to a whole new opportunity and look at life. I knew after playing Sean in Step Up that I had found a job that I would want to continue you and strive to become better at.

How did you get the opportunity of being part of “Pretty Little Liars”?

I auditioned once a year prior to getting on the show, but the role wasn’t right for me at the time. A year later I came back to audition for a different role. The production office of PLL had remembered me and liked me as Jake and I received the official offer to be on the show.

What can you tell us about “Jake” your character in the show?

Jake is thoughtful young man. He thinks before he does and processes situations rationally to either help himself or others. He has a big heart and wants to show it but only to the right person.

As a Mixed Martial Arts (MMA) fighter, is it easier to play your part on the show? Have you helped Lucy Hale with it?

My character on the show practices Tang Soo Do which is similar to Tae Kwon Do (a martial art that I have a black belt in). It was nostalgic for me to put the gee on again and practice because I hadn’t done so in a while but it was an easy transition. Lucy has been having a good time going back and forth with me while doing martial arts. She catches on quick.

Have you ever watched the show or read the books before being part of it?

I started to watch the prior seasons but then I came to a realization that I wanted to be true to my character. My character is coming into this new world and finding out everything for the first time and I think it plays better if subconsciously I don’t know everything about the girls’ pasts.

Your character is supposed to stay just for a little while, but do you think that there is any possibility to stay a little bit longer?

I love Oliver and Marlene and everyone else that is a part of PLL, so it really is up to them if they’d like to keep me around. I enjoy working with everyone on the show and wouldn’t mind staying around a little longer.

You are interested on writing too, what do you write about?

Writing is an outlet for me. I used to just write with no intention but now I have given my outlet a direction by writing scripts now. I’m currently in the process of directing my own film that I wrote and plan on creating more scripts to potentially be big movies for audiences to enjoy. I put a bit of my in everything I write.

Which other projects do you have for this year?

It is a busy year for me. I just started my own production company and beginning make our first film this month along with attaching the company to other films. I will be shooting PLL at the moment and then I’m off to film another movie for Lionsgate/Summit later in the summer. All together I have about 6 different projects I’m currently working out for the rest of the year.

Samantha Schuster

