Giullian Yao Gioiello and his role in The Carrie Diaries

Headshot2r

Giullian Yao Gioiello started modeling and doing commercials when he was very young. After some acting and appearance on TV, he got the opportunity of being in the TV show “The Carrie Diaries”, the prequel of “Sex and the City”.

He is going to be Scott, a sweet, goofy and nice guy who will be related to Dorrit. His first Episode will air next January 3rd at 8pm on the CW.

But Giullian also likes singing and playing guitar, and he plans to release an EP soon.

In a conversation with The Outsider Argentina, Giullian spoke about his newest role in “The Carrie Diaries”, his musician’s skills and the projects for next year.

How did you start acting?

My dad got my twin sister Lulu and I started basically at birth, modeling and doing commercials and stuff like that. When I was eleven, I did the voice of “Aang” on Nickelodeon’s “Avatar the Last Airbender” for the first season, but I was replaced after the first ten episodes. That sucked. Oh, and I was on the Conan O’Brian show twice as a four year old for the Christmas special–I had to sit on Santa Conan’s lap and ask for “Proof of Extra-terrestrial Life” for Christmas. I remember having absolutely no idea what that even meant at the time, haha.

How did you get the opportunity of being on “The Carrie Diaries”?

Through my agency–funnily enough, I actually had been into Jessica Daniel’s (the casting director) office twice before this for different roles, I had a callback for “Miller”, Dorrit’s old boyfriend on the show and another role. Third time is the charm! I’m happy with Scott, in the end.

What can you tell us about your character Scott?

He’s kind of a lot like me. But a bit younger in every kind of way. He’s sweet, a bit goofy, and kind of that guy who’s “the nice guy”.  I think he’s a pretty endearing character, but also charming in his own way.

What can we expect from your character? With who is going to be related?

I first show up in Season 2, Episode 9 at a party at the Bradshaw house. I’m mostly with Dorrit, and then through her I interact with a couple other characters.

How do you prepare yourself for a role?

p align=”justify”>I always try to imagine them in my head before I start reading the lines out loud. I want to see what clothes they wear, how they do things in general, and what they’re really thinking through all their scenes. Then I just keep running lines with people til’ I find whatever just feels right. I think that’s always been the most helpful in preparing. Just being comfortable with it.

You’re a musician too, what kind of music do you like to play?

I’ve played guitar since I was a kid, and sang for several years now–so I’m very into the acoustic R&B stuff, but also a lot of Electronic music too. Think James Morrison, Little Dragon, James Blake, Grizzly Bear. Soon I want to release an EP, and I want to incorporate both guitar, voice and also some electronic beats in there.

Who are your biggest influences?

I actually really look up to the young leading man types–Joseph Gordon Levitt, Anton Yelchin, Ezra Miller… I think they’re fantastic actors, and I try to be as realistic as they are. Whenever I see them act, there’s no performing. Just natural, living right there on the screen in front of you.

Which other projects do you have for next year?

I’m actually in my last year of school at NYU (for acting) so I’ll be finishing that up and hopefully moving on to something else, and perhaps back into Carrie Diaries once we hear about the next season.

Samantha Schuster

