The magical journey of Rachel Boston

image (1)

Finding out that you are a witch with powers must be something difficult to understand. That is why we saw Ingrid Beauchamp from “Witches of East End” growing so much during the first season. She is discovering herself as a powerful witch with many lives and a wild past.

Ingrid is portrayed by Rachel Boston, who started singing and doing plays when she was a little girl. After moving to New York she got the opportunity of being in different movies and TV shows, such as “500 Days of Summer”, “Ghosts of Girlfriends Past”, “The Ex List” and “American Dreams”, among others.

Her latest project is “A Ring By Spring”, a romantic comedy about an independent woman who is told by a psychic that she is going to receive a ring by spring or she will never get married. Rachel acts and produces this movie, premiering on the Hallmark Channel on March 8th.

In a conversation with The Outsider Argentina, Rachel spoke about her character in “Witches of East End”, her movie “A Ring By Spring” and the transition between her first and last project on TV.

How did you start acting?

I grew up on a mountain in Tennessee and started singing in the church choir when I was 7. That led to performing at Opryland in Nashville, and then I fell in love with theater. I did church plays, school plays, regional theater.  I went to an all girls school and we would do a musical every year at the all boys school so that was very exciting. I found my home on stage, and when I was 17, I bought a one way ticket and moved to New York City.

How did you get the opportunity of being on “Witches of East End”?

When I read the script I immediately fell in love with the world of magic and Ingrid’s journey of self discovery.  It was a month long audition process. The chemistry of the family was extremely important.

I had worked with our executive producer Maggie Friedman on an episode of Eastwick and worked with Mark Waters (who directed the Witches of East End pilot) on 500 Days of Summer and Ghosts of Girlfriends Past, so it was wonderful to reconnect with people I love.

What do you like the most about portraying Ingrid Beauchamp?

Ingrid has lived so many lives so she is very wise and just learning how to trust herself in the world of magic. It was amazing to see her evolve and grow this season. She went from a wallflower, to a powerful witch, to a woman falling in love, to a past life dream where she discovered she has a wild side…a very wild side, to discovering she is the key to Asgard. She is on quite an extraordinary journey!

What kind of research have you done for the role?

I love to read so I read a lot. I read books on magic, the power of subconscious, past lives.  I bought so many books that a man in the bookstore was convinced I was really a witch.  And when I was filming a TV series called In Plain Sight in New Mexico, I lived in the desert and met so many amazing women who explored the metaphysical world so that really prepared me for this role as well.

The portal to Asgard has been opened, what do you think that will happen to Ingrid and her family?

Ahh!  I don’t know!  I’m very excited. It’s going to be amazing.  I can’t wait to find out what will happen in Asgard!

Ingrid recently suffered Adam’s death; do you think that she will fall in love again soon?

Yes, I do. Ingrid’s experience with Adam really broke her heart open and showed her the power of true love.  I believe she will find the courage to open her heart up again.  Maybe he’s in Asgard.

How is it like being a part of a supernatural show, in which the most powerful characters are women?

It’s inspiring to be part of an ensemble cast with four very strong women who each have a unique voice and vision. And I love living in a world where anything and everything is possible.

What can you tell us about “A Ring By Spring”, movie in which you’re starring and producing?

“A Ring By Spring” is a romantic comedy about an independent woman who is told by a psychic that she will receive a ring by spring or she will never get married. When the psychics other predictions start coming true, I go on a journey through my ex-boyfriends to figure out why I am afraid of marriage. It was a fun shoot. And cold. Very cold. We filmed in Vancouver in December, and it snowed a lot. I love filmmaking and with independent films, you have a smaller crew so everyone is more involved in every stage of the creative process. I like the challenge.

In your opinion, how was your transition from your first role in TV, Beth Mason in “American Dreams”, until nowadays with Ingrid Beauchamp in “Witches of East End”?

Oh, how lovely to think about that! I actually lived in the same hotel while we were filming “Witches of East End” as I did when we filmed the pilot of “American Dreams” so there is some magical synchronicity there. I love my job so very much. The joy and excitement and nervousness of starting a new show still feels the same. I feel like I’m just getting started. There is so much I want to do and so many stories I want to tell.

Samantha Schuster

