The first steps of Monty Geer

332032_2424015166603_6360329_o

Starting in the entertainment industry must be really hard. A lot of auditions, some rejections. But everything makes sense when you book a role in a movie or a TV show.

After filming the movie “Raised by Wolves”, a horror film about skater kids who go to an abandoned house where terrible things happen, Monty Geer booked a role on the TV show “Awkward”. He is going to portray Cole, a rebel gay stoner who is always messing around with everyone.

Besides, he is working on writing a new feature film and he is starting a production/equipment rental company called “Deck of Aces”.

In a conversation with The Outsider Argentina, Monty spoke about his character on “Awkward”, his newest movie “Raised by Wolves” and his dream role.

How did you start acting?

I’ve been acting for pretty much as long as I can remember. When I was a kid I used to make hundreds of hours of home videos, like stop motion stuff with toys or manly improvised live action sketches with my friends. I still do that today with more professional groups. My most recent one is GhostBearComedy.


Then when I was 16 I began traveling to New York during the summers to attend the New York Film Academy, then moved to New York when I was 18 to go to NYU and start professionally acting and doing comedy there. Then permanently moved out to LA.

How did you get the opportunity of being on “Awkward”? Have you watched the show before?

Yeah, I’ve been a big fan of “Awkward” for a while. I got on it like any other day: just had another random callback. I heard my friend booked one of the roles and I was excited because I thought my character was fun to play and I could really kill it with him. But then after the chemistry read I broke down and thought I bombed my audition. I told everyone I hated this industry and was tired of failing and not booking anything— then I booked it! So that was cool.

What can you tell us about your character Cole?

I love this character. He’s a rebel stoner who is always just messing around with everyone. Has a “f@&$ society” vibe and is also gay, but not in the cliché way. For example he made a film called “It’s gay to be gay”. So that’s cool of MTV to show a new style of a homosexual character.

Do you have any role model to portray him?

I’d say he’s like Seth Rogen on “Freak and Geeks”, but with more of an aggressive and wild “tasmanian devil” attitude. Although he may be based on a real person.

You’ve already worked with Evan Crooks in “Raised by Wolves”, how is it like working with him again?

I love Evan, the guy is hilarious and we’re naturally friends. I’m excited to work on any project with him. I think we play off each other really well.

What can you tell us about the movie “Raised by Wolves” and your role there?

It’s a found footage horror film about a bunch of skater kids who go to an abandoned house where a cult used to live: and the nightmares that follow. I play the hero of the film, who tries to keep everyone together as these terrible things start happening. I’m incredibly excited to have it come out, and can’t wait to see it for the first time.

Which would be your dream role?

I would love to be in a movie that I write and star in myself. I’ve done a lot of writing, like for “College Humor”, “Late Night With Jimmy Fallon” and some other shows. Definitely something with humor and sadness as well. “Her” was great this year, and I would love that. Or any movie by Judd Apatow. But I gotta be honest, I’m loving being on “Awkward”, this whole experience has been a dream and it’s a wonderful show.

Which other projects do you have for this year?

I’ll be doing multiple episodes of “Awkward” so will be busy with that. Besides that I’m working on writing a new feature film that we plan to film. I’m also starting a production/equipment rental company called “Deck of Aces”. And always looking for whatever new roles may stumble my way.

Follow Monty on Twitter: https://twitter.com/MontyGeer

Samantha Schuster

