Nate Maingard in the shadows

nate maingard

We can’t run or hide from the parts of ourselves we don’t like. We have to face and accept them. That’s what the song “In the Shadows” from Nate Maingard is about.

“In the Shadows” is also the name of his EP, which was recorded in London in 2013, with artists who have worked with Adele, Paul McCartney, James Morrison, among others. It contains a few of the songs from the last years written by Nate.

In a conversation with The Outsider Argentina, Nate spoke about his beginnings, his EP and his upcoming shows.

How did you start doing music?

I come from a musical family so I’ve always been around musicians. My dad is a musician and guitar maker. I began playing when I was 14…and always wanted to write lyrics, so that’s what I started doing.

Do you have any influences?

Yes, many. Radiohead, Ghandi, Herman Hesse, Ludovico Einaudi, John Lennon, Tallest Man On Earth, Paulo Coelho…many many more

How can you describe your music?

Soulful, meaningful, playful, deep, real.

You’re a songwriter too, what is your source of inspiration?

Life, The Divine, people, experiences, nature, community.

How was it like winning a South African National Arts Festival Ovation Award in 2012?

It was an incredible experience. I felt so special and it was a real reward for all of the hard work I have put into my music.

How was the experience to sing in South Africa? Do you want to go back?

I loved it. It’s where I’m from and it flows through my veins still. The wildness, the beauty, the passionate air. I will definitely go back to visit…maybe one day to live. Who knows, life is a mystery.

What can you tell us about your EP “In The Shadows”?

It was recorded in London in 2013, with artists who have worked with Adele, Paul McCartney, James Morrison and many more (a really friendly group of people). It has a few of my songs from the last several years of writing. My song In The Shadows is the title track and it’s about the fact that we can’t run or hide from the parts of ourselves we don’t like…so facing and accepting them is really the best option.

What do you enjoy most about being on stage?

Connecting with people who really feel my music.

Which are the upcoming shows?

I have many, you can always see them at my website: http://natemaingard.com/shows

Which are your projects for this year?

I run some music nights, plus I will be hosting an open Mic at Boom Festival in Portugal. I also have some tours I’m planning and lots of other exciting things. Always updating on my blog: http://natemaingard.com/blog

Samantha Schuster

