Brock Baker breaths comedy

PIC

What do Homer Simpson, Bugs Bunny, Stewie Griffin, Kermit and Kenny McCormick have in common? That all of them are cartoons? Not only that, the main thing in common is Brock Baker, the man who can mimic all these voices.

He started doing impressions his whole life and he has been doing dubs for a long time too. Between 2005 and 2006 he was introduced to YouTube, where he started recording videos and showing them to an audience.

His favorite character is Zoidberg from Futurama and he considers Jack Black’s voice the most complicated voice to mimic.

In a conversation with The Outsider Argentina, Brock spoke about his beginnings, the process of learning a new voice and what comedy means in his life.

How did you start doing impressions and dubs?

Impressions I’ve been doing my whole life. Unknowingly until I was about 15 or 16, that’s when I realized that I was kind of good at them. I just grew up watching a lot of TV and would mimic all the cartoon voices. Just for fun, but now I do it for a living! Dubbing I’ve also been doing for a long time. I grew up watching a lot of Mystery Science Theater, I think that’s my biggest influence in dubbing. I remember being 8, and my friend and I would mute “Power Rangers” and just come up with our own dialogue. It wasn’t until 2011 when I started doing dubs on Youtube. It was just going to be a one-time thing, but the success of my “Friday” dub kind of drove me to make more. I think I’ve done 33 so far. Some take hours to complete, some take weeks.

When did you realize you could make videos about that?

Impression video wise, I remember being introduced to Youtube back in 2005, 2006, and seeing people doing impression videos. I said “Hey, I can do that!” and I just kind of…started. I was really bad at first, and people told me, but over time I think I got pretty good. Dub video wise, I knew other people were doing dubs of stuff, like Jabooody Dubs did the infomercials. I kind of wanted to do something different though since I have all these voices. So I started dubbing just bad music videos. I have since moved on to dubbing other things, like Star Wars, The Royal Wedding, stuff in the news, The Oscars. It’s fun.

Which comedians have inspired you the most?

Growing up, I was obsessed with Jim Carrey and Robin Williams. Not only were they funny and wacky, they also did a bunch of voices. I’d say I’m more influenced by voice actors like Billy West, but I still love comedy.

How is the process to learn a new voice?

Honestly just trial and error. I hear a voice, I try to mimic it, I record it, I listen to it, I play it for others. If it’s not up to par, I keep working on it and repeat that process. Some voices come naturally since they’re already in my range, some voices take years to develop. I’m still trying to get a Donald Duck voice down. I think it helps to watch the voice actor do it.

Which character do you like the most?

I really like Zoidberg from Futurama, he has such a great voice.

Which character was the most difficult to learn?

Jack Black I think has been really difficult. He has so many levels. There’s his mellow voice, there’s his wacky voice, and then there’s his singing voice. I’m still trying to perfect all three. I like challenges like that.

Do you write some script for the impressions or are they phrases from the shows?

Kind of half and half. ANYBODY can just quote something, I try to mix it up and write my own dialogue. So it’s funny when someone comments “fake!”

What does comedy mean in your life?

Comedy is a HUGE part of my life. I’m always trying to come up with something funny. I live and breathe comedy. My parents are both very funny, and I was raised to appreciate the funny things in life. Not to take anything too seriously.

Which other videos are you planning to do?

I have an extensive list. Some ideas have been on there for years, I just need to figure out the right way to do them. I’m a one man team, so it’s extra difficult. Some I want to save for when I have a budget or a crew. I always try to incorporate voices somehow into my videos, whether I’m playing a character or dubbing over something. Voices are my strength, and that’s why most of my subscribers watch my stuff. I don’t really want to spoil anything.

Brock Baker Youtube’s Channel 

Samantha Schuster

