Candice Sand: from classical music to R&B

Candice Chantrell

Candice Sand always knew what she wanted to be in her life since she was very little: a songwriter and a recording artist. And she conquered that dream.

She has passed from classical and country music to R&B and pop and she feels like she is a much more flexible singer and musician.

As a songwriter, Candice likes to mix the good and the bad side of life and love’s experiences, because she sees a lot of beauty in it.

In a conversation with The Outsider Argentina, Candice spoke about her beginnings, the released of her upcoming EP on July 29th and her experience about singing with JRDN.

How did you start doing music?

I started singing when I was 8 years old, only because I was given a solo in a school play. I wanted to do music professionally starting right away after high school. I studied opera for a couple of years in university and jazz & contemporary music in college. After that, I just took what I had learned and carried on. I started songwriting, moved to Toronto, and started networking. I always knew that I wanted to be a songwriter and recording artist.

How was the transition from classical and country music to R&B, hip-hop and pop?

Maybe a bumpy road at times. The styles are all so different but I’m glad I did it. I feel like I’m so much more flexible of a singer and musician for it. And honestly, I have always truly loved Pop and R&B. It’s what excites me and when I’m writing Pop/R&B, it doesn’t feel like work. It’s just too fun! Plus, I grew up listening to and loving Pop and R&B so it feels right to be doing it.

You’re a songwriter too, what do you write about?

I think that absolutely anything can be inspiration for a song, but usually for me I think I like writing about life and love with bittersweet optimism. Meaning, I think there is a lot of beauty in the good things and the bad things we experience with life and love. I like to write about those things (the good and bad) and swing them in an optimistic way. For example, on my new EP I wrote a love song around the idea that every moment can never be repeated. How all the variables that make up each moment will never align that same way again and how we want to hold onto moments but can’t. That might sound like a sad thought, but there’s beauty in it. You find appreciation in it.

What can you tell us about your debut single “I Got This”?

It’s a true story! That was the first song we wrote and recorded for the EP and it’s speaks directly from my own experience of leaving one life behind and moving to Toronto to pursue a music career. It’s a personal anthem!

How is it like working with Kuya Productions?

Great! They’re good guys. Super talented and professional. They know the kind of music I love so it was nice to go into the studio and write songs that I could really get into because of the vibe!

How was it like singing with JRDN in you song “Go On”?

It was exciting! I was so very happy when I found out he was able to do the feature. I’ve been a fan of his since his first album and right away everyone seemed to think that our voices blended well.

What’s the story behind that song?

Well this is the only song on the EP that was already partially written by Kuya Productions and a songwriter from LA (J-Doe) when I decided to record it. It resonated with me being that a lot of my friends and family that are in the entertainment industry (actors and musicians) seemed to be struggling. When I decided to record it I basically took it, rewrote some of it, and also wrote everything that was unfinished. That being said, when I was writing I was thinking of those friends/family who were struggling. In particular, in the bridge I was saying everything I wanted to say to them but couldn’t.

How was it like filming the music video of “Go On”? How can you describe it?

Haha freezing!! It was the middle of February in Toronto, it was -25 degrees, and we filmed from 7pm-3am over the course of 2 days. I promised everyone that I would never write a winter video again! haha It was worth it though. We were all so happy with how the video turned out. I have to say that I had the BEST crew in the world though! Despite the fact that it was freezing, everyone was there to do good work and also have fun. If I think about filming that video, I just remember laughing constantly and consistently.

When are you going to release you debut EP?

Mark your calendars for Tuesday, July 29th! #AgainstConcreteWalls will be out!

Are you going to do a show to present it? If yes, when and where?

We have a few surprises in the works for the release, but nothing that I can officially announce right now. We will however have a lot of fun things leading up to the release, so follow along on Twitter http://www.twitter.com/candicesand and “like” the Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/candicesand to stay in the loop and hear all the news coming soon!

If you want to pre-order Candice’s new album here is the link:  http://bit.ly/V8bmUp

Samantha Schuster

