Jack Silkstone, the author of the PRIMAL series

photovisi-download (39)

As a way of an escape, Jack Silkstone, a man with a background in Military Intelligence, Counter-Intelligence and Special Operations, started to write when he was in Afghanistan. But it was not just the birth of a new author, but also the birth of “PRIMAL”.

“PRIMAL” is a series of books about justice and fighting for the little man that no one cares about. This vigilante unit was initially formed by two jaded CIA operatives, Vance and Ice, and then they recruit three more people.

They fight a secret war against the untouchables, powerful criminals, greed driven corporations and twisted politicians. With cutting-edge technology and tactics they strike across the globe with impunity, stepping in where governments fail. That is why each book is placed in a different country with different causes.

In a conversation with The Outsider Argentina, Jack Silkstone spoke about the beginning of the PRIMAL series, the influence of his Military Intelligence background and about his upcoming book “PRIMAL Redemption”.

How did you come up with the idea of writing the “Primal” series?

I was in Afghanistan at the time and dealing with a lot of stress. I turned to writing as a bit of an escape and I soon found myself imaging what the people around me could achieve without being hamstrung by bureaucracy and politics, the idea for PRIMAL was born.

What are they all about?

PRIMAL is all about justice. About fighting for the little man that no one cares about. They take the moral high ground without the taint of politics or economics. They use any tactics required to bring a little justice to those who think they are outside the law.

What can you tell us about the main characters, who formed “Primal”, the vigilante unit?

PRIMAL was initially formed by two jaded CIA operatives, Vance and Ice. Given the opportunity to form their own vigilante team they seized it and recruited Chua, Bishop and Mitch. These five made up the original team. Over the years additional operative joined the team as it grew in size and capability.

In which way has your Military Intelligence background influence you when you were writing these books?

I guess the biggest influence is in the realism I can inject because of my background. I’ve fired many of the weapons I describe, I’ve worked with a lot of the organizations I describe and I’ve had a military career surrounded by the type of men and women who would love to fight for PRIMAL.

Each book is based in a different country, how do you choose them?

It’s less about countries and more about specific causes. There is a lot of injustice in the world and I like to write about things I feel strongly about. I have tried to keep a good spread of locations so as to not bore the reader but most of the problems are actually occurring where PRIMAL fights them.

Do you know every place which you have sit the stories or have you done some research about it?

I spend a lot of time on the web researching locations and getting feel for what it is like on the ground. Unfortunately I don’t make the sort of money yet that lets me travel to them all. Plus, let’s face it, some of them are downright dangerous.

How is your process of writing?

I develop a full outline of a story before I start writing. This includes breakdowns of locations, characters and the individual scenes in which the play. With that under my belt I start writing. I am to put 5000 words down a day. Sometimes I get distracted but most of the time I work very very hard.

Which was the repercussion from the readers?

I get a lot of great feedback from my readers on twitter, Facebook and through emails as well as great reviews on Amazon. The concept of PRIMAL seems to really resonate with people and they enjoy the high speed style that I use to deliver the story.

Are you planning on writing another book soon?

I’m currently working on PRIMAL Redemption the last book in the Reckoning trilogy. PRIMAL Nemesis has been completed and is going through its final edit at the moment. It should be out in a few weeks. Once I finish Redemption I will start working on PRIMAL Renegade. That is going to be a very cool story based around poaching in Africa.

If you want to know more about the PRIMAL series enter here: http://www.primalunleashed.com/

Samantha Schuster

